101 NORTH CARSON STREET

CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701-3713

OFFICE: (775) 684-5670



1 STATE OF NEVADA WAY

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89119-4339

OFFICE: (702) 486-2500

Office of the Governor

June 11, 2025

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 352 of the 83rd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 352 ("SB 352"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to health care; prohibiting certain health insurers and providers of health care from engaging in certain discriminatory actions; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Though SB 352 is well-intended, the necessity of this bill is unclear. The characteristics it aims to protect—such as race, sex, age, disability, gender identity or expression, and sexual orientation—are already safeguarded under a broad array of existing laws, including the Affordable Care Act, the Nevada Constitution, and current Nevada statutes, including the very statutes this bill seeks to amend. As such, SB 352 appears to offer symbolic rather than substantive change, raising concerns about redundancy and the potential for confusion without delivering clear benefits.

Because this bill largely duplicates protections that already exist at both the state and federal levels and therefore does not provide any meaningful enhancement to current legal safeguards, I cannot support it.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

///

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

CC: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Bonnie Borda Hoffecker, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Diane Thornton, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)

Asher Killian, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)